January 9, 2013

  • Wednesday Evening: Today was a little mistier than the last week and cooler at 13C, but until now it has been sensational, a mini summer with no wind and 19-20C every day in warm sunshine. I flew a lot again on Sunday, but then Monday morning the car wouldn't start and I thought it was because I had charged too many batteries.

    Beccie had a hospital appointment at 9 am Monday morning with the top heart surgeon in Spain and Chrissie needed to be there too, so we had to call Jim to drive her to Denia. Thankfully the surgeon doesn't want to operate on Beccie as he thinks in time the problem with her crushed viem may become easier.

    I tried to charge the car, but I was unable to charge the battery, so had to wait until they came home later to jump start it from Beccies car. I did have another couple of flights during the day because this spell of calm weather is unprecidented and I want to take advantage of it, during the coming months it can blow endlessly.

    I flew the little electric Tiger Moth out over the valley to the south after the sun went down and with the thick warm air rising the model flew very slowly and it looked so real. When I landed it rolled out perfectly and didn't nose over for the first time EVER, it was it's best flight

    As it turned out it, the failure was very little to do with my model battery charging, it was a dud cell in the car battery, which cam happen anytime. I bought a new one and a new charger, so was a little more relaxed about charging my models back up again today. Also I have been checking the new car battery with a volt meter to make sure I don't wipe it out.